Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’re probably well aware that California is now cannabis-legal. That means recreational sale and use of weed is completely legal – as if you needed even more reason to visit our beautiful state!
According to the Business Insider, “A report… estimates sales of cannabis to hit $3.7 billion by the end of 2018 alone, and predict that number will increase to $5.1 billion in 2019 as more dispensaries come online.” Marijuana is big business y’all and with it comes tourism dollars, too. If this applies to you and you’re itching for a trip out west, here’s what you need to know before stepping a single foot into the Golden state.
Where to Stay
Just because pot is legalized for purchase and use, it doesn’t mean you can smoke up anywhere, anytime. It is still illegal to use pot products in public places. However, it IS legal to smoke in private residencies. But if you’re not a homeowner, leases and vacation rental agreements can be a tricky thing to navigate if you’re a tenant or visitor.
When choosing where to stay, look for hotels and vacation rentals that are 420-friendly. A convenient site to use is Kush Tourism. Here you’ll find hotels, Bed & Breakfasts, and other types of rentals that have all been vetted to allow use of legal pot. Smoking policies can range from indoor smoking to outdoor only so be sure to read the fine print before booking.
Where to Smoke
As mentioned above, it is illegal to smoke weed in public places. This includes sidewalks, parks, restaurants, and beaches where offenders can be fined up to $250. You must smoke in a private residence that allows legal marijuana use. Another thing to keep in mind? You must either finish all of your weed or give it away before leaving California. As legalization is still a state-by-state law, it is not recognized federally. Don’t try to smuggle weed across state lines – this act is illegal and not recommended as you’ll be putting yourself at risk with the federal authorities.
When to Smoke
If you’re relying solely on taxis, Ubers, and public transportation to get around during your vacation, then you can smoke whenever you’d like! But if you’re going to be operating a vehicle, then you will have to be more careful. Plan your cannabis consumption around when you’ll be driving. It is illegal (and unethical) to drive while high – so don’t do it. If you need more incentive to not drive while impaired, know that California police are well-trained in detecting marijuana-impaired signs of driving and are ready to dish out big fines for even having “open containers” of weed in the car – includes objects like a loaded vape pen or unwrapped edible.
How Much Weed to Buy
Adults aged 21 years or older can walk into a dispensary and buy up to one ounce of recreational cannabis per day. For medical patients with proper authorization from a doctor, up to eight ounces is allowed for purchase per day. Have fun!